Skip to main content

American money

The United States dollar is the official currency of the U.S. and its territories. Learn about the bills and coins that make up U.S. currency.

Paper money

American paper currency comes in seven denominations: $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50, and $100. 

The United States no longer issues bills in larger denominations, such as $500, $1,000, $5,000, and $10,000 bills. But they are still legal tender and may still be in circulation.

The U.S. Bureau of Engraving and Printing creates U.S. paper currency. Learn about paper money and how to recognize counterfeit currency.

U.S. coins

United States coins denominations include 1¢, 5¢, 10¢, 25¢, 50¢, and $1.

Learn about U.S. coins, how they are made, and their history from the U.S. Mint.

LAST UPDATED: June 11, 2024


Have a question?

Ask a real person any government-related question for free. They will get you the answer or let you know where to find it.