Skip to main content

Official language of the United States

Find out if the United States has an official language, and learn about languages spoken in the U.S.

Does the U.S. have an official language?

The United States does not have an official language. English is the most widely used language in the U.S., and some states designate it as their official language.

Languages spoken in the U.S.

People in the U.S. communicate in more than 350 languages. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, some of the most widely spoken languages other than English are Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog, Vietnamese, and Arabic. 

Learn more about the languages spoken in the United States.

People in the U.S. also speak Native North American languages such as Navajo, Yupik, Dakota, Apache, Keres, and Cherokee, among others. Learn more about the native languages of North America.

LAST UPDATED: December 27, 2023


Have a question?

Ask a real person any government-related question for free. They will get you the answer or let you know where to find it.