Skip to main content

Federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native entities

The federal government recognizes 574 Native American tribes in the continental U.S. and Alaska. Get a list of tribes, trace your ancestry, and learn how to enroll.

Federally recognized tribes

See the list of federally recognized American Indian tribes and Alaska Native entities, from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA).

Contact tribal leaders

Search for tribal leaders and federally recognized tribes by state.

Trace your Native American ancestry

Find information from BIA that may help you trace your American Indian or Alaska Native ancestry.

Enrolling in a tribe

You must be a member of a federally recognized tribe to be eligible for American Indian and Alaska Native benefits and services. 

Learn about the tribal enrollment process.

Get a list of benefits for people enrolled in federally recognized tribes.

LAST UPDATED: April 6, 2023


Do you have a question?

Ask a real person any government-related question for free. They will get you the answer or let you know where to find it.